Picking a Fight

Today’s support of Chik-fil-A Appreciation Day (which could have been six rednecks and a drunk hobo who stumbled in to poop, I don’t actually know) has made me mad. So I’ve decided to rant about it, because that is what the Internet is for. It is an excuse to respond to things no one has actually said, and things I’m sure were said at some point, just not to me. So here’s one:

“I have gay friends, whom I love, but. . .”

Okay, stop there. I know you are saying that you “love” your gay friends because Jesus said to love your neighbor as yourself. And I dig that. Do you want me to quote the Bible or Shakespeare to counter this? Because you don’t love your gay friends. Shakespeare said, “Love is not love which alters when it alteration finds.” So, according to the Bard, you can’t claim to love someone and want to change them. (That goes for all the people who are in relationships too. If you think he’s a “fixer-upper,” YOU ARE WRONG.) So when you say, “I love this person, except for these qualities,” that isn’t love.

But the Bard was a bisexual British man, so what the fuck does he know? Fucking heretic. Screw him. Let’s stick with THE ALMIGHTY WORD OF GOD. So the Bible says, in 1 Corinthians 13 (NIV, and if someone says that the translation matters I will cut them):

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

Let’s look at the behavior of the anti-gay marriage/rights/gay people period crowd.

“Love is patient, love is kind” Can someone tell me how constantly telling someone they are going to burn in hell is either patient or kind? If you are correct, then you have to wait for God’s time to move their heart. And you are supposed to be called to love your neighbor as you love yourself. What kindness does railing against the world about what your neighbor does do anyone?

“It does not boast, it is not proud.” LOOK AT ME I’M SO RIGHTEOUS I’M GOING TO HEAVEN AND I KNOW WHAT IS BEST FOR THIS COUNTRY NA NA NA NA BLAH.  Yeah, that’s not loving your neighbor, either.

“It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.” Blaming 9/11 and Katrina on the gays is all of these things. Not that every Christian does this amount of bullshit. But every time a straight couple says that their marriage is invalidated by a couple of lesbians getting hitched it seems pretty self-serving. Every time a person comes out and says “I can’t support sin” it seems pretty self-serving to me, and is keeping a record of wrong-doing. Listing your friends’ sins isn’t a way of loving them, it’s a way of judging them. And that’s not love.

I know that anyone who is going to argue with me on this is going to say that “Love does not rejoice in evil” is the part where my applying this verse falls apart. Well, I’m not going down without a fight on that. Discriminating against someone, who has absolutely no control over who they find attractive, is evil. Plain and simple. I’ve heard it said that Christians are called to give up things to serve Christ, but I have to ask in retort: What does a straight, white male have to give up to serve Christ? And you can’t say things like drugs, strippers, adultery, or drinking because those are choices. You don’t choose to be gay, straight, white, black, male, female, transgendered, or a midget. And even if, despite lots of science proving this, you still think being gay is a choice, isn’t rejoicing that Chik-fil-A exists kinda rejoicing in evil? I am referring to donating money to groups that think gays should be exported. If you replace “gay” with “black” or “mentally handicapped,” no one would ever argue that you “loved” your friends, cause everyone would know that you didn’t.

Honestly, it is only the last part of that verse that gives me hope. Love always trusts, protects, and hopes. If we love our friends, we trust them to run their own lives and souls. We protect them from people who would hate them for who they are. And we hope for a better day when love is the force it is supposed to be, not a cover that people use to hide their bigotry.

About wombatdeamor
I am a writer who has yet to be published. I am using this blog to shame myself into writing more regularly, in the hopes that I will be able to improve the "About Yourself" box to something less awkward. I also like to cook and use profanity.

4 Responses to Picking a Fight

  1. hirwin25 says:

    For the most part, I agree. However, I don’t agree that you can’t love a fixer-upper. You love who they are now, accept that what you would like to change is unlikely and love them anyway, and hope that perhaps over time that together both of you can evolve into something more than what you were apart.

    • wombatdeamor says:

      I think I stuck that in a little randomly, and I didn’t fully articulate what I meant. I agree with you that you can love someone who isn’t perfect, and has aspects of their life/personality that they need to work on. (As a matter of fact, it would be impossible to love someone who didn’t, because that person doesn’t exist!)

      I was referring to is when a person “settles” for another person, knowing that they are flawed: drug user, incredible slob, horrid racist, likes Ben Affleck movies, etc, and thinks that through the course of the relationship they’ll be able to change the person into someone more in line with their own opinions. I keep wanting to just say women, cause I hear about women doing this all the time. Meet a guy who spends all day drinking and playing video games and then expects that their mad skills will change him into the CEO of Zimmer’s. So that’s what I meant with that random, missed placed sentence that probably should have been edited out in the first place. Thanks for pointing that out.

      • hirwin25 says:

        Not a problem. After re-reading your blog posting, I believe that was what you were originally trying to say. I just couldn’t resist putting my “two cents” in.

      • wombatdeamor says:

        I really like getting comments. Your two cents is always welcome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

