Goals for my writing

Last week was horrendous. But it did do one thing for me. It made me evaluate what I want out of my life, and what I am trying to do with my writing.

As of right now, I only have a few goals. They have no order to them. But I’ve been thinking about what this art means to me, and what I believe I can do with it. So here they are. Please note, this is me writing to remind myself what my reasoned out dreams are, so I can work to make them succeed.

I want to be a published poet.

I want to write novels and have them published.

I don’t expect to live off my earnings. My goal is to save whatever money I make from publishing, perhaps help fund my retirement. But if I can get enough to live comfortably I won’t complain.

I’d like to be able to do readings and signings, no matter how meager the attendance.

I’d like my work to be good enough that someone uses it in a classroom at some point in my lifetime. This goal actually will be fulfilled, as one of my writing mentors asked for a copy of one of two of my poems as examples for his intro to poetry classes. Now to get those two published so it can beat out any other examples he may be tempted to use….

Still, that’s not the same as a professor or teacher making his students read my work and then making them write papers about it, or asking me to come discuss it with the class. Pure ego? Damn right it is.

I want to go back and get my masters and someday teach creative writing and maybe some lit classes. I feel like getting published a lot will make up for my somewhat mediocre grades from my undergrad years.

I’d love to work as an editor someday.

I realize that to a certain extent, this is just me typing on the Internet, wishing on a star. I’d be much better served working on my projects. And I am. But I like the idea of putting my words out there, so I have to keep from eating them later.

About wombatdeamor
I am a writer who has yet to be published. I am using this blog to shame myself into writing more regularly, in the hopes that I will be able to improve the "About Yourself" box to something less awkward. I also like to cook and use profanity.

Leave a Reply

