Social Internet Status Update

So I can’t seem to bring myself to write about myself or take myself seriously enough to justify the time it takes to update people on my life. I look at friends of mine who post seven or eight times a day on Facebook, or look at the people on Twitter who constantly tweet about their lives, or who can create new content for their blog on a daily basis and I am both mesmerized and horrified. I don’t know that I have that in me. One side of me says that I have much better things to do with my life than constantly share every single aspect of my life. But I feel like that side of me is a mask for the bigger side of me that says, “who cares about every aspect of your life?” So I don’t want to seem like I’m judging anyone who does share their lives consistently. I really wish I could look at myself and see someone who people could give a shit about. Twitter is nice because for the most part, I can pretend I’m just typing into the maelstrom, and expect it to go unseen. Facebook is harder, cause when you share a frustration or an event from your life and no one “likes” it or responds to it, it can feel like you’re palpably being ignored. Maybe if I engaged people more on either site? Who knows. I know I don’t do the Internet thing the way I should, like I don’t do a lot of things like I should. I try hard to come off as strong and laid back, but I’m really just a damaged guy with self-esteem issues. So, enough rambling. Have a good day, Internet, ignoring every word I type.

About wombatdeamor
I am a writer who has yet to be published. I am using this blog to shame myself into writing more regularly, in the hopes that I will be able to improve the "About Yourself" box to something less awkward. I also like to cook and use profanity.

Leave a Reply

