Ten Me’s for You

My New Year’s resolution was to write a blog post every week to be posted on Tuesday, and lo and behold a week into the new year I already forgot about it. This one is late and I don’t have any interesting essay ideas (that won’t feel half-assed), so here is a list of things about me. If you follow me on Twitter or we’re Facebook friends, we may not actually know some of these things about each other. So here we go.

1) I think Deep Space Nine is the best of all the Star Treks.

2) I think Star Trek is, for the most part, better than Star Wars.

3) I don’t think Star Wars is science fiction. It’s a fairy tale (in the academic sense, not an insult.)

4) I am a fan of Notre Dame football. I am ashamed of the University for their treatment of the Lizzy Seeburg case, and will be heartbroken about it for the rest of my life. A young woman’s life is more valuable than a young man’s football career, or even an entire university football program. But I won’t stop being a fan. Sorry.

5) I am likely to automatically discount the point of view of the person with the most power in any situation.

6) My favorite food is Mexican.

7) I can order food in three languages.

8) I consider ordering food to be all a person needs to know in another language.

9) My favorite dead author is Robert B. Parker and my favorite living author is Christopher Moore. If I were stuck on a desert island, I’d want a copy of Lamb and a copy of Small Vices.

10) I am the type of person who is more inclined to like a thing than not like a thing. If I invest time into reading a book, especially, I’m probably going to like something about it. There are exceptions (the guy that wrote Fight Club? I hate those books. Hate. Rant and Haunted and Invisible Monsters are three of the worst books ever written by anyone, anywhere, and that counts self-published.), but for the most part I will find something good about a piece of entertainment. Mostly because life is about how you look at a thing. And it’s possible to take anything and pull what you want out of it. There are Christians who want to be offended by everything. There are people who want to find racism, sexism, feminism, altruism, patriotism, and truisms in every movie and book they consume. I can find those things, but for the most part I am hoping to find something interesting to talk or write about.

About wombatdeamor
I am a writer who has yet to be published. I am using this blog to shame myself into writing more regularly, in the hopes that I will be able to improve the "About Yourself" box to something less awkward. I also like to cook and use profanity.

Leave a Reply

