Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway

Imagine it’s a holiday. You don’t have to be anywhere. You are surrounded by the family and friends you like, and none of the ones you don’t. A show you like is playing on the television, or your favorite music. A meal is served, and every bite is phenomenal, from appetizer to dessert. So good, in fact, that you find yourself savoring every bite.

Time slows down and you want to make the moment last as long as you can.

Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway was that holiday. It is a book that will remind you of why you love to read in the first place. It is packed full of genre bits: there are elements of crime fiction, spy thrillers, steampunk, and the menace of a fantastic supervillian. It is also packed full of the wonderful things we love about literary fiction, as these genre pieces are used by characters to explore ideas about identity, life and death, truth, and love. The book is full of lively, well rounded characters that jump off the page.

I honestly can’t wait to read his first novel The Gone Away World. I have it sitting on my table, just waiting. As he’s a new author, I’ll have to savor that one while I wait for his next work. But that’s okay. That’s one of the things I like about reading, anyway.

About wombatdeamor
I am a writer who has yet to be published. I am using this blog to shame myself into writing more regularly, in the hopes that I will be able to improve the "About Yourself" box to something less awkward. I also like to cook and use profanity.

Leave a Reply

